New Student Loan Payments

I think about money all the time now, but I do it in a completely different way than I used to. While reading an article about student loans I decided to call Sallie Mae and ask about extending (and thus lowering) my monthly payments so that I can put extra money towards my higher interest loans to get them paid off as soon as possible. Happily, my Federal loans were eligible and I lowered my monthly payments by $220, which I can now put towards my private loans every month. The loan payments are lowered for 24 months until they go up for the duration of the repayment period, however this gives me enough time to pay off my private loans and have most of my Federal loans paid off before this kicks in.

What’s weird, and I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, is that I would rather spend that $220 on my loans than on anything else at the moment. Yes, that includes makeup and clothing. It’s not that I don’t want these things – I have an epic shopping spree in mind when this is all done – but I want my student loans paid off more. This change is going to help that happen just a bit sooner, and I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

