We Went to Ikea

I know, I know, Ikea is like Swedish crack and should be avoided at all costs when not spending money, but let me explain:

As you are aware, I am in the midst of completing a 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home Challenge and yesterday, Terry and I cleaned the area above our cupboards and had a go at sorting out our kitchen cupboards. While on Pinterest, I noticed these under shelf baskets:

Shelf

 and I immediately knew that they could help Terry and I organize our tiny kitchen. Does anywhere in Bicester sell them? Of course not, but Ikea does. So we set off to Ikea to pick some up. We needed 3 at £3 each, so we had a budget of £9. But it’s Ikea, and you always find something that you didn’t realize you needed. We picked up a few boxes to get above our kitchen cupboard sorted, some straws to make some bunting

Bunting
Thanks again Pinterest!

 and a floating shelf to help me get my purses organized in the bedroom for a total of £34. We paid cash and I feel pretty content with our purchases as they will all help us to organize and decorate our tiny home on a tiny budget. 

Our haul:

IMG_0972

We put some extra dishes and cookbooks in the boxes to give us some more space in our cupboards and organize the storage. 

IMG_0982
All you need to make the bunting are some colorful straws and string
IMG_0975
Before: clean, but blah
IMG_0985
After: colorful bunting and storage make me smile!

We also spent some time making bunting for the kitchen using this tutorial. It adds such a lovely pop of color and it took us approximately 30 minutes and cost under £2. The kitchen looks a lot brighter now! Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

