The End of 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home

Most of you know that I have been participating in a 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home challenge where I do a set of cleaning tasks each day to, well, organize my shoebox. I haven’t managed to post in the past few days as I am just beginning to prepare for the upcoming school year and it is consuming me, but I’m taking a moment to post the last three days of challenges and a few thoughts:

Day 18:

1.Set the timer for 15 minutes and vacuum the main living areas of your home.

This can never seem to get done often enough

2. Vacuum your carpeted closets. Sweep or mop the floor in those closets without carpet. Remove all items from the closet floor and get rid of clutter, trash, and items that don’t belong in that closet.

Haha! No carpeted closets in this home = day off. Thanks tiny European homes!

3. Find 5 items to get rid of today. Throw them out, stick them in a donate or garage sale box, give them to a friend who can use them, or list them on Craigslist or eBay.

IMG_0968.JPG

1 & 2: Notebooks – donate

3. Garlic press – donate

4. Sunglasses case – donate

5. Scissors – donate

Day 19:

1. Set the timer for 15 minutes and wipe down your windowsills and trim around your windows.

Not the most fun I’ve had all day….

2. Clean your windows and blinds and/or window treatments. If you want to get really ambitious, you can take the screens off (if you have screens) and clean the outside of your windows. Or, you can just use window cleaner and clean your windows on the inside. Dust or wash your blinds. Remove any washable window treatments and launder them.

This is yet another task that I haven’t done since I moved into this house. 18 months ago. I must say that I am really impressed with the difference that this (relatively) quick task made.

IMG_1012.JPG
Before – not too bad, right?
IMG_1013.JPG
Wrong! Ewww!!
IMG_1015.JPG
After – what a difference a quick clean makes!

3. Find 5 items to get rid of today. Throw them out, stick them in a donate or garage sale box, give them to a friend who can use them, or list them on Craigslist or eBay.

IMG_1007-0.JPG

1-3. Old bags – donate

4. Hanger – donate

5. Ice cube tray – donate

Day 20 – the end is here!:

1. Clean out and re-organize your medicine cupboard(s). Check expiration dates on medicines and dispose of any that are expired. 

We don’t have a medicine cupboard – we have a medicine box. It hasn’t really been looked at recently to I pulled it out. I threw away empty boxes and expired medications and cleaned it out. 

IMG_1016.JPG
Medicine ‘cupboard’ before – the lid didn’t even go on properly
IMG_1020.JPG
After – a perfect fit!

2. Set the timer for at least 15 minutes and do something you really enjoy and that relaxes and rejuvenates you. If you need ideas, here are a few: read, write, call a friend, pray, exercise, bake, play with your children, laugh with your husband, stop by the bookstore and browse the book selection, work in the garden, or take a nap! Take some time to just stop and enjoy life today!

Today I painted a rug that I’ve been wanting to do. Pictures to follow!

3. Find 5 items to get rid of today. Throw them out, stick them in a donate or garage sale box, give them to a friend who can use them, or list them on Craigslist or eBay.

IMG_1008.JPG

I had a few more than 5 things today as it’s the end of this whole expirement:

1. Teapot – donate

2&3. Shampoo bottles I had been saving to use for travel – recycle

4&5. Cups – donate

6. Keychain – donate

7. Homemade dreamcatcher – donate

And that’s it. I have officially finished my 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home challenge!!! At the end of it, my home is certainly cleaner and more organized and I enjoyed the challenge. I cleaned things that hadn’t been cleaned since we moved into our house – and possibly a long time before in some cases. I found that taking time to clean little things every day instead of one big clean at the weekend helped a lot and is something that I will look to keep going as the new school year begins.

Perhaps the best part of the challenge was finding 5 things a day to get rid of as I was constantly evaluating items’ places in our home and whether they deserved that space. Terry and I went to the charity shop this afternoon and donated over 100 items that previously occupied space in our home and I don’t miss a single one of them. The space that those 100 items took up has helped our home to look and feel more tidy and, to be honest, it has cleared up a lot of space emotionally.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to declutter and organize their home. Feel free to ask any questions and best of luck! Also, a special shout out to Taylor who I firmly believe is the only one of my friends to have actually read all 20 days of my cleaning challenge.

One thought on “The End of 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home

  1. I’ve never commented but I’ve been reading all your posts! Hoping one day I’ll have the motivation to do it myself. Maybe when I finish my internship and have to wait a few months to be allowed to work?

    Like

Leave a Reply

