The End of the Year of No Spending

Two days after my last entry my husband died suddenly of bacterial meningitis. He was 30 years old and in perfect health. Things haven’t been the same since and will never be the same again. These last two weeks have been an absolute whirlwind of funeral planning and shock and a million other things, and it is only now that I find myself with a brief moment to think about our finances, which have now become my finances.

Instead of two incomes, it is just mine now and I find myself left with £5,000 of credit card debt, £6,800 car loan and $59,000 of student loans in addition to the household bills. Because we have no children, it never occurred to either of us to take out life insurance. We always talked about taking it out when we had children, but I can now see the error of that decision. Overwhelmed doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel. I am currently attempting to reduce the £2,000 monthly bills that Terry and I could comfortably pay into something that my £1,500 monthly salary can cover.

The silver lining is that people’s generosity since my husband’s death has been amazing. Truly I am touched by the kind words, actions and donations that have poured in. Some of my best friends from the Peace Corps – and many others – helped to set up a Go Fund Me account that will help to bridge the financial gap left in Terry’s sudden absence. These kind donations will buy me some time to figure out what the next step is and to prepare myself for it. I don’t know what I would do without it, quite frankly. Thank you to all who have donated.

Sadly, with this sudden financial crisis, I find that the Year of No Spending must come to a pause, if not the end. I hope to be able to continue to pay off my debts and still dream of being debt free one day however that, like many other dreams, has been crushed by my immediate circumstances. There are expenses that must be paid and money that must be spent as I transition from the happiest days I’ve ever known to the darkest.

I will attempt to continue to post about my debt reduction and would welcome prayers, kind thoughts, words and any support you have to offer. Until then, thank you all for the kindness.

Leave a Reply

