Ninja Update

A lot of you have asked about Ninja and his ongoing struggles with medication, so I thought I’d post a quick update:

I have not even attempted to give him anymore liquid medication and the vet finally called me back yesterday and has prescribed him some strong probiotics that can be sprinkled onto his food combined with a temporary diet of nothing but bland foods such as fish and/or chicken. Ninja is understandably devastated that instead of dry food he can only eat canned tuna. I started him on tuna two days ago and he has never begged for food more. I was a little worried that I was underfeeding him, but he appears to be healthy enough. I picked up the probiotic pills today and was surprised to find that there were 50 of them – which will take him into 2015! – but hopefully this helps heal his poor tummy.

IMG_1135.JPG
Ninja’s face when he hears the can opener

On a positive note, Ninja medication-gate was the last  major breakdown that I have had. There have been good moments since and bad, but I am continuing to take each day as it comes and on good days I am cautiously optimistic that I just might survive this after all. WAY (Widowed and Young), a non-profit for people widowed under the age of 50 in the UK, has played a huge part in this by connecting me with others who have survived what I am going through and serve as role models. I am not foolish enough to think that the worst is over, I have no way of knowing if that’s true, but having survived the last breakdown, I feel better prepared for the next. So far my survival rate is one hundred percent and I know that Terry is so proud of me.

Leave a Reply

