Wedding Cake Conundrum

Wedding Cake

This is Terry and I cutting our UK wedding cake. For those of you who may not know me well, Terry and I were married in Las Vegas with only a few people in attendance before a 6 month honeymoon throughout Southeast Asia and the States. We held a backyard BBQ in Nashville for family and friends in the states and a garden party in the UK for family and friends in England as opposed to a traditional wedding party. This is the wedding cake lovingly made for our English garden party. In UK tradition, the top tier of your wedding cake is saved and eaten at the christening of your firstborn child.

I had completely forgotten that this cake existed until my father in law brought it over yesterday. I feel like I have a pretty good idea of things that need to be taken care of in the wake of Terry’s death but this cake knocked the wind out of me. Not only will Terry and I never have children, we will never have another wedding anniversary to reminisce about our honeymoon and multiple wedding adventures that seemed so wacky, but felt so right to us at the time. Our wedding was perfect for us, as was our marriage. Now all I have left is this cake that had been saved for one of the happiest times in our lives, and is now with me for the worst.

What am I going to do with this cake? I’ve asked myself this question multiple times, staring at that stupid box, unable to open it. Eventually, I shoved it in a drawer, where it is now out of sight but nowhere near out of mind – my father in law tells me it doesn’t need to be frozen, but to be honest if it just sat there and rotted I don’t think I would mind. With the move it can’t stay hidden for too long. What am I going to do with this cake?

Leave a Reply

